World-renowned partners

The research partners (SINTEF, NTNU, UiO, NGI and NINA) are at the international forefront of wind energy research, with complementary expertise and a strong track-record as partners/hosts of FMEs and other major research activities. Together, the participating companies cover the full supply chain from planning to deployment. 

Research at the highest international level

FME Northwind brings together about 50 partners from research and industry all around the world.
The participation of outstanding international universities and institutes (DTU, TNO, Fraunhofer, University
of Strathclyde, NREL and NCEPU) as associate research partners strengthens the centre. They will advise on
research and collaborate to ensure the quality of research is at the highest international level.

Research Partners

Industry Partners


Research and industry, together

NorthWind constitutes a strong team of research and industry partners with complementary competence and roles. Participating research organisations (SINTEF, NTNU, UiO, NGI, NINA) have leading wind energy research expertise and a strong track-record as partners/hosts of centres and other strategic research activities.

John Olav Tande

Centre Director

Randi Aukan

Centre Administrator

Eirill Bachmann Mehammer

Leader, Electrical Infrastructure & System Integration, WP3

Ana Page

Deputy, Structures & Integrity, WP1

Roel May

Roel May

Deputy, Sustainable Wind Development, WP5

Anne Steenstrup-Duch


Hans Christian Bolstad

Centre Manager

Vigdis Olden

Leader, Structures & Integrity, WP1

Adil Rasheed

Leader, Digital Twin & Asset Management, WP4

Zhen Gao

Deputy, Marine Operations & Logistics, WP2

Asgeir Tomasgard

Deputy, Scientific Advisory Committee

Daniel Albert


Trond Kvamsdal

Head of Scientific Advisory Committee

Petter A. Berthelsen

Leader, Marine Operations & Logistics, WP2

Marianne Ryghaug

Marianne Ryghaug

Leader, Sustainable Wind Development, WP5

Magnus Korpås

Deputy, Electrical Infrastructure & System Integration, WP3

Catherine Banet

Deputy, Scientific Advisory Committee

Inger Marie Malvik

Head of Technology Transfer Committee

Henning Braaten

Leader, Marine Operations & Logistics, WP2

Sara Heidenreich

Leader, Sustainable Wind Development, WP5

Kjetil Johannessen

Deputy, Digital Twin & Asset Management, WP4

Erin Bachynski-Polić

Deputy, Scientific Advisory Committee

Project organisation and management

The Centre is organized with a General Assembly of all partners, a Board with industry in majority and a Centre Management Group (CMG) for daily operation. The CMG consists of a centre director, communication manager, and the heads of the WPs, SAC and TTC. The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) is leading the PhD programme and liaison with associated research partners, and give advise on the scientific content and progress of the Centre. The Technology Transfer Committee (TTC) has a specific responsibility to bring results towards commercial use, including linking with SINTEF TTO, NTNU TTO, industry partners’ business development and corporate venture units (Equinor Technology Invest, ABB Technology Ventures, DNV GL Ventures, etc.), industry clusters (Offshore Wind Cluster, RENERGY etc.),
Innovation Norway and Enova.

Centre Board

Elling Rishoff

Chairperson | DNV

Geir Olav Berg

Board member | Aker Offshore Wind

Jan Kristian Haukeland

Jan-Kristian Haukeland

Board member | DOF

Ole J Nordahl

Ole J. Nordahl

Board member | Equinor

Håkon Hallem

Board member | Force Technology

Torunn Lund Clasen

Torunn Lund Clasen

Board member | Nexans

Björn Mo Östgren

Björn Mo Östgren

Board member | Statkraft AS

Anne Brisset

Board member | Total Norge AS

Norunn Myklebust

Norunn Myklebust

Board member | NINA

Johan Hustad

Johan Einar Hustad

Board member | NTNU

Petter Støa

Petter Støa

Board member | SINTEF